Being ‘hit’ on, hard, hammered!

Today I came across Sangbad bhai’s and Sheetal’s friday fables challenge, and so, here is my story the two of you ๐Ÿ™‚

When I was in tenth grade, I joined the last batch of swimming for the day, from 7:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. This was basically because there used to be a lot of rush in the morning batch. There was a guy in the same batch as we, (me and my brother) were, Akshat! Akshat was a pro at swimming. Me , my brother and dad often spoke about him being so adept at swimming on our way back home.

And there were always strange ‘coincidences’. Like Akshat’s cap used to fall from his hand when I passed by, not once, not twice, many times, I would pick it, hand it over, he would say thank you. Akshat would keep looking at me every damn time I saw him, and then he would suddenly turn around, you know like the daily soap old-school romance. Like the color of his pant would turn blue two days after I bought a new blue swimwear. He was super fast at swimming, but he was so kind to let me win the race, he came third, me second. You generally don’t find such ‘kind’ school boys, do you?

And one fine day, Akshat and me FINALLY started talking. He was funny. And I was enjoying all the good attention from him, the innocent friendship-love-crush-smiles which is so rare these days. Who doesn’t like being hit on? Who wouldn’t smile seeing the other person smiling so wide?

So in the midst of all this, I had the ‘golden opportunity’ of participating in an inter school debate competition. It was in his school. I didn’t tell him about it, because I wanted Akshat to be ‘surprised’ when he would see me. I wanted to see how he would react. All these silly things were fun back then.

When I went to the school, Akshat totally slipped out of my mind. It was a hectic day and I was totally drained out. Me and my friend wanted to use the washroom since really long, and she kept saying that her urinary bladder would burst today. It was 3:00 p.m., approx. Our great Kannada teacher Mr Moses told us the way to the washroom. We both ran like Usain Bolt does and entered the washroom together. Suddenly there was a loud shout, and then after they finished shouting, both of us shouted at the top of our voices. It was shrill. Really really Shrill. Yes dear readers, Mr Moses told us the way to the boys’ restroom. The one for girls was in the other corner of the school. And guess who was with his friends in the washroom? A-K-S-H-A-T. ‘The’ Akshat who shouted ‘Minty’ after our shrill voices were silenced. When we ran back, Mr Moses came running and asked “เฒเฒจเฒพเฒฏเฒฟเฒคเณ เฒเฒจเฒพเฒฏเฒฟเฒคเณ?” (What happened, what happened?)

I was so embarrassed, I didn’t go swimming that day, Akshat didn’t go too. When he saw me, after two days, he had a great laugh. And I jumped into the pool, to hide my face.

32 thoughts on “Being ‘hit’ on, hard, hammered!

Add yours

  1. This was AAAMMMAAZINGGGG. It really had that humorous zing in it. Loved it so much.It was full of innocence, humor, childlike playfulness, that first crush feels, longingness. So many flavors in one recipe. Just fabulous! Keep writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

