I don’t have to…

I don’t need to apply sunscreens before I go out; if I love sunshine, and getting tanned. I don’t give a damn if Sweety aunty rejects me for her charcoal black son, just because I’m fifty shades lighter than him, yet dark.

I don’t have to listen to everyone. Certainly not to the person whose grandson failed class 10 and he is sitting here today and telling me how sorry he is because I can’t get IIT Bombay.

I don’t have to answer everyone. Definitely not to this helium filled balloon advising me to join a gym, just because she thinks that guys these days don’t care whether you are the topper, and all they want is a sexy, fairly educated homemaker. I don’t have to answer her why I’m studying when her daughter is at the gym.

I don’t have to hear everything. I’ll certainly not hear this lady who walked in as a guest and is criticising my hardworking, strong and wise neighbour for not being a spendthrift. I can always ask her to shut-up. I can always refuse to listen to her nonsense.

I don’t need to wear Salwars and sarees or a bikini and crop tops, I don’t have to wear what someone wants me to wear. I’ll wear what makes me comfortable, because I don’t give a damn whether people find me elegant or sexy. All that matters is I am comfortable.

I don’t have to be a pro at cooking unless I’m dependent on Sharma Ji’s daughter for my daily meals.

I don’t have to touch a self proclaimed godman’s feet, even if dad insists, because I will not worship him if I think he is fake, if I think he is a con.

I don’t have to use lipgloss or cheek blush or eyeshadows. I find myself beautiful without any make up. It’s not my problem if Sristy thinks applying an eye shadow can make me look stunning. I have no interest to ‘stun’ her.

I don’t have to keep my hair long, if I can’t manage them. Nor do I have to get a pixie cut done just because my cousin thinks it’s cool. I don’t have to Color my hair pink, black, white or blue unless I want to.

I don’t have to attend a wedding just because I’m given an invitation card or skip it just because I was not given one. All that matters is whether my presence is celebrated.

I don’t have to wax my legs if I find it painful.

I don’t have to apply a concealer on my face, if I embrace the scars.

I don’t have to smile when I’m trying hard not to misbehave.

I absolutely don’t need a boyfriend if I am happy just the way I am. Nor do I have to break up if the girl calling herself my ‘bae’ thinks the guy is a player, if I still can trust him.

I don’t have to stop writing this or sharing it just because someone thinks it doesn’t make a great post.

I shun unreal standards of ideality. I don’t give a damn about ‘perfection’. All that matters to me is being honest to myself and real. I am who I choose to be. I choose to be me.

61 thoughts on “I don’t have to…

Add yours

  1. Just be yourself.. Rest don’t matter… People poke only if you allow.. That’s y I like mumbai… Here we are too busy nobody asks anything no time.. And people who do ask are idle and I don’t respect such people… So I don’t bother about anybody and ah yes I am of a different generation

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. In my opinion, being honest to myself matters the most.
      That’s true about Mumbai. I have a few cousins who live there. They don’t differ in their opinions.
      You are a rockstar doc! πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No other option orange if I want to survive… If i think about what people say then I wouldn’t be able to look after my parents and my family… Only they matter then my close friends and nobody else..
        My work life and my personal life don’t interfere. At work I am different

        Liked by 1 person

          1. πŸ’— orange, when we have a choice we dwindle.. But when no choice,then I have to carry on
            Just be yourself, don’t think so much.. And be tough.. Only when you cower they will poke.. Once u show u don’t care, they will stop. People like getting a reaction. Ur fear is to be shown only at home or close friends.. It takes years to be so bindaas but some days everything affects.. So we all have good days bad days..
            I am learning a lot about myself and about you by talking to you guys

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I understand. The choices thing, I can totally relate to it. It is infact true that we days, good and bad. And once we make it a compulsion for us to be tough, no matter what, life is much easier.
              I started blogging just 3 months back, and I have been deriving a lot of benefits from reading posts that others write. It’s been a pleasure to meet people like you. Thank you so much for this Shalini πŸ™‚
              πŸ’™

              Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Heartbreaker! πŸ˜‚
    M sorry, but for me this tag has associated itself with your name right from the post ‘A girl and 10 boys’.
    I would say that once in a while we come across something that makes us think, makes us ask questions to ourselves, makes us re-read the whole thing again and again because we can relate to it so much that we feel as if our own thoughts have been voiced. And this post is once of its kind!!
    Beautiful post! You articulated your thoughts so well. Keep writing πŸ‘
    Eager to read more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heartbreaker πŸ˜‚
      I’m so honoured reading your comment. It’s such a motivation to write more, I’m so glad.
      At times you feel so let down, despite knowing that you need to ignore the stuff that you just heard, and then you write, to remind yourself that. And then, someone tells you that they can relate to what you just wrote, and their thoughts resonate with yours. That’s when you gain your confidence and punch standards of ideality hard!
      Honestly, you just wrote something I wanted to read. I feel really really happy when someone tells me that they relate to what I wrote. Thank you so very much for this Shubham and sorry for writing an essay for a comment πŸ˜›πŸ™‹πŸ’«

      Liked by 1 person

                1. Really! I’ve never had a boyfriend. And about the skin colour and weight issue, it’s not that I’m dark or overweight it’s just that people around want perfect milky white complexion and size zero! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜›

                  Like

    1. Exactly. I don’t know what joy people get in taking decisions for others. Like they are the wisest and are born to pull us out of this ignorant dark world to ideality. But yeah, we can choose to discard their decisions and take our own decisions.
      Glad you liked this post Shwee πŸ™‚πŸ™‹

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Who said this post isn’t great??!! Delete those people from the universe (I mean those who say this post isn’t great) πŸ˜‚
    Nice one santru. Love you ❀❀
    I don’t have to say love you so that people think I just want to comment because I have such a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious name. I say it because I mean it.
    I don’t have to say anything because I know you understand everything that I have to say… ❀❀
    You know I am bad at writing poems and romantic stuff but yet I write it here because I ❀❀ oranges πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I love you too, my supercalifragilisticexpialidocious dope ass!
      I love people who love oranges πŸ˜‰. I love asses πŸ˜›πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ dope asses πŸ˜›
      Delete the people who think you are bad at writing poems, except you.

      And on a lighter note, does Sharma Ji remind you of something? Hint: red hair πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‰

      Like

    1. Sachi mein di! It’s so difficult to deal with people who keep poking their nose in everything initially, but yeah, once we realise it’s a rog, a disease, we feel at ease πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

